top of page
Writer's picturePoppy Joppy

Out and About in KORATTY!!!

Updated: Mar 22, 2023

So this is all about my little STAYCATION at mom’s place. I was there for a week, and it was quite a GETAWAY from all the depression and loneliness I was facing at the time. The "LOVER" record was being played NONSTOP through my headphones as I went off on my first SOLO journey. Darn it, we're still not over the lover ERA.

“BOY, I UNDERSTAND”

I was almost gonna FALL in front of the Koratty Shrine, but I was sure as hell that nobody witnessed it after I CLUMSILY peered around the corner. So when I did arrive, I was pretty shocked to see my COUSINS with eyeliner dripping from their eyes. They apparently didn't go to SCHOOL and ended up playing a MAKEUP game. They were racing towards me, thrilled to see me and all the things we planned to do.

So KORATTY is notable for the Koratty Muthy Church, which is India's most PRESTIGIOUS Marian Pilgrim Centre, as well as Kerala's most important Marian pilgrimage tourism and Catholic tour travel DESTINATION. The most EXCITING thing was visiting the church and then returning by taking the BACKROADS home like we actually STROLLED almost the whole town rapping the song “BELIEVER”.

SUCH A PARALLEL!

Okay, I should have INTRODUCED my cousins earlier. There’s IZA, the two-year-old slay baby; the adorable AMMU; feisty MINNU; PONNU, the melomaniac; and the two cute bakas, ANNA and NAVYA.

Evenings were spent with the kids playing BADMINTON and other outdoor activities while listening to my favorite SPOTIFY playlist.

After a very long time—years long—we actually had a COUSINS SLUMBER PARTY. We played all night and then watched "STREE," a Hindi movie that was supposed to be a HORROR film but turned out to be a comedy since there was COMMENTARY all along. We laughed a lot watching it, and it was the PERFECT night. In fact, we saw some TERRIFYING films that I had been too scared to see before KORATTY, and they all ended up being funny.

FOOD experimentation is a typical part of staying at a house. So we decided to make a WHITE SAUCE-TOPPED MACARONI dish. 6 cups of water, 1 tsp salt, and 2 cups of macaroni for boiling the macaroni. Also, we used butter, milk, cheese, and BLEH... BLEH... BLEH... for the white sauce. PONNU mixed the foodstuff, MINNU did the dishwashing, and I gave the instructions. I was unable to do anything because they were all so helpful. MASTER CHEF after all! Our macaroni was done, and IZA was the most enthusiastic about our MEALS since she'd wanted it first.

OKAY, TRUTH: IT TASTED LIKE SHIT.

COOKING was therefore crossed off our bucket list.

It was at that time that Netflix released "OUTER BANKS" season 3, and whenever I checked on my PHONE, all I could see were thirst traps of JJ and RAFE, which eventually made me FALL into watching it as the days made me feel a bit HOMESICK. I watched the entire season and had to explain the TWO seasons to my cousins in order for them to CATCH UP.

MAN, EXPLANATION SUCKS!

Two of my relatives' homes had interestingly cute DOGGIES. One was JUDO, or nunu, as IZA calls it, and the other was the legendary ROCKY. I'm so moved by dogs that I tend to approach them, which is not the best call when it comes to JUDO because he did come to bite me and he was really FURIOUS.

AMMU and IZA frequently attempt to CLINCH on me because they like being carried around. IZA has always given me two REASONS why she wants to go with me. She yells out "VEEZHUM" (which means "she would fall") or "VEYILA" (which means "it's extremely sunny") every time we go outside. She once asked that I carry her inside the home since, according to her, it was "veyila". SHEESH! this girl!! The funniest thing is that she started calling me "OPPY" rather than "JOPPY".

EVERYBODY CALLS ME OPPY NOW.

So, BASICALLY, my grandfather ran his own rental company, and now no one presently resides there. So it has been unused for a while, and it looked like the PERFECT SPOT to play treasure hunting. We gathered there and started looking for the TREASURE Minnu had hidden.

I ENDED UP WINNING!

We traveled and explored a lot of Koratty and its BEAUTY. During the entire time, we were there, my cousins and I traveled to a variety of spots and ENGAGED in a variety of fun things. I had the WARMEST vacation ever thru this visit. Being one of the VACATIONS our cousins have had together made it the most SPECIAL to me.


 

162 views1 comment

1 Comment


Georjeena Noble
Georjeena Noble
Mar 22, 2023

Awesome oppy ❤️

Slayed this vacation huh.. baby gurl

Wait till I come 😌

Like
bottom of page